E-Service Requests

Add a Notice  |  View Notices

Mayor Bruce Henley elected as Association of Manitoba Municipalities Interlake Director

Posted: June 23, 2017


Mayor Bruce Henley elected as Association of Manitoba Municipalities Interlake Director


West St. Paul Mayor Bruce Henley was elected as an Interlake district director at the Association of Manitoba Municipalities District Meeting, held in Arborg this week.

Two directors for each of the AMM’s seven rural districts are elected every two years.  Reeve Trevor King of the RM Of Woodlands was also elected. The Association of Manitoba Municipalities represents the interests of 137 municipalities in Manitoba and is responsible for representing all Manitoba municipalities on Provincial and Federal matters. 

Henley said he was honoured to have the support of his peers – the mayors, reeves and councillors from the 20 municipalities in the Interlake District – who chose him to represent their concerns in the AMM.

"As leaders in our communities, we are always working toward building stronger, resilient communities, that will serve current and future generations. Serving as a director in the AMM allows me to have an even stronger voice for our community, and the others in the Interlake District,” Henley said.

"We share common concerns and by working together we can achieve many things. I’m humbled that my fellow mayors, reeves and councillors have put their faith in me.”

The AMM is divided into seven districts – Parkland, Interlake, Midwestern, Central, Western, Eastern and Northern, and the City of Winnipeg. Each district is represented by two directors, who are elected every second year during June District Meetings. The City of Winnipeg is represented by one Director.

Presidents and vice presidents are elected every two years at the annual convention. AMM and Manitoba representatives also serve on the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) Board of Directors.